top of page
Screenshot 2023-01-24 102918.jpg

Sidar analytics positively supports Section 508 Rehabilitation Act

The Section 508 Rehabilitation Act & Integrated Digital Experience (IDEA) Act

Section 508 is a set of standards that were created by the US Federal government to ensure that electronic and information technology (EIT) is accessible to people with disabilities. The standards are designed to make online software, websites, and other digital content accessible to people with visual, auditory, motor, or cognitive impairments. The Section 508 standards apply to all federal agencies and to any organization that receives federal funding.

The standards cover a wide range of areas, including website design, software development, video and multimedia, and document creation. Some of the key requirements include providing alternative text for images, captions for videos, and clear and consistent navigation. The standards also require that software be operable with keyboard-only input, and that text be resizable without the loss of content or functionality.

Section 508 compliance is mandatory for all federal agencies, and it's required for the procurement of the EIT by federal agencies, it's important for any organization that receives federal funding to be in compliance with these standards.

It's worth mentioning that Section 508 is a part of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, which prohibits discrimination on the basis of disability in programs and activities that receive federal financial assistance.

Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0 (WCAG)


WCAG 2.0 covers a wide range of recommendations for making Web content more accessible to people with disabilities. Developed with assistance from individuals and organizations around the world, WCAG 2.0 provides a shared standard for web content accessibility that accommodates the needs of individuals, organizations, and governments internationally.


Integrated Digital Experience (IDEA) Act


The 21st Century Integrated Digital Experience Act, otherwise known as the 21st Century IDEA or IDEA Act, was signed into law in December 2018.

This bill supports the acceleration of the federal government’s goal of improving digital service delivery and customer experience.

Agencies should ensure that websites and web-based forms meet the standards in Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act so that every taxpayer, regardless of physical abilities, can access the information they need online.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram
bottom of page